Snow Leopard my First Impressions…

My first experience with Snow Leopard was not the best…

Not that I don’t think that it’s a tremendous upgrade with lots of improvements under the hood.

The Exposé, the Spaces, the new stack modes, everything seems just great.

I had a few problems ordering my DVD. I had to fill out the form and then send a letter to London so I could receive my Snow Leopard.

I made a mistake before when I canceled my first payment form.

Anyway, it arrived after one week and a half, not three weeks like Apple Support told me.

So I went with the upgrade process…

I did not make a fresh install…too lazy for that, maybe later. So I run the disk, everything went ok. After that Software Update popped up…Time for 10.6.1.

After that I had a big issue! My DVD just wouldn’t eject…

It entered in a loop mode because it didn’t even appeared on my desktop.

After some research on the net I found out many solutions.

The one that worked best for me was to go into Mac HD, System, Library, Core Services, Menu Extras and double click on a file named: Eject.menu, which in turn placed right away an Eject Icon on my menu bar.

I had to have this Icon, otherwise the disk was almost non existent…

I then clicked on the Eject Icon, but the best part was, and I mean really the best, I had to tilt my MacBook Pro 45 degrees to the left in order for the DVD to pump out!

Is this something or what?

I mean, and quoting from Apple website: “More reliable disk eject.

Snow Leopard improves the reliability of ejecting discs and external drives. Sometimes when an application or process is using the files on a drive, Mac OS X prevents you from ejecting it, but you don’t always know why. In Snow Leopard, you’ll get fewer of those errors and when you do get them, you’ll see exactly which application is using the drive, so you can quit it and eject the drive properly.

This was something very weird…It was the first thing I read, and the first problem I had…Go figure…

Problems with your Snow Leopard? First impressions?

Share them with us!

Have a nice day.

My first experience with Snow Leopard was not the best…

Not that I don’t think that it’s a tremendous upgrade with lots of improvements under the hood.The Exposé, the Spaces, the new stack modes, everything seems just great.

I had a few problems ordering my DVD. I had to fill out the form and then send a letter to London so I could receive my Snow Leopard.

I made a mistake before when I canceled my first payment form.

Anyway, it arrived after one week and a half, not three weeks like Apple Support told me.

So I went with the upgrade process…

I did not make a fresh install…too lazy for that, maybe later. So I run the disk, everything went ok. After that Software Update popped up…Time for 10.6.1.

After that I had a big issue! My DVD just wouldn’t eject…

It entered in a loop mode because it didn’t even appeared on my desktop.

After some research on the net I found out many solutions.

The one that worked best for me was to go into Mac HD, System, Library, Core Services, Menu Extras and double click on a file named: Eject.menu, which in turn placed right away an Eject Icon on my menu bar.

I had to have this Icon, otherwise the disk was almost non existent…

I then clicked on the Eject Icon, but the best part was, and I mean really the best, I had to tilt my MacBook Pro 45 degrees to the left in order for the DVD to pump out!

Is this something or what?

I mean, and quoting from Apple website: “More reliable disk eject.

Snow Leopard improves the reliability of ejecting discs and external drives. Sometimes when an application or process is using the files on a drive, Mac OS X prevents you from ejecting it, but you don’t always know why. In Snow Leopard, you’ll get fewer of those errors and when you do get them, you’ll see exactly which application is using the drive, so you can quit it and eject the drive properly.”

This was something very weird…It was the first thing I read, and the first problem I had…Go figure…

Problems with your Snow Leopard? First impressions?

Share them with us!

Have a nice day.


apple-mac-os-x-snow-leopard-box-top


Leave a Reply

