MacBook 13″ Vs MacBook Pro 13″

A few months ago I got a brand new MacBook 13″, replacing my White MacBook.

I became addicted to that aluminium body and all the new specs.

The bright led monitor, the faster graphic engine, the solid and robust construction, everything seemed perfect…

But I also saddly noticed the lack of Firewire…

A very discussed thread in many forums with many complains!

“What were they thinking..!?” This one comes to mind…

Then to my surprise and to many, Apple introduces the Pro version of the 13″ MacBook!

Something very good for some, and very bad for me! I had my MacBook for 4 months, and now a new one? Better? and cheaper? No way…

So I had to adjust…I sold my MacBook and I got a new one!

Did I really need it? Probably not…Is it worth it? Of course!

Check out some benchmarks and pics below, between the two.

Benchmarks

2008 Unibody MacBook (2Ghz Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB hard drive)
Converting .AVI video to MP4 – 10.15
Converting 29 min song from AAC to MP3 – 13 seconds
Converting 46 min album from AAC to MP3 — 1.50
Compressing 220Mb file – 2.32
Startup: 1.10

2009 MacBook Pro (2.26 Ghz Intel Core Duo, 2GB RAM, 160GB hard drive)
Converting .AVI video to MP4 – 10.15 (same!)
Converting 29 min song from AAC to MP3 – 14 seconds
Converting 46 min album from AAC to MP3 — 3.15!
Compressing 220Mb file – 2.30
Startup: 35 secs

macbook_benchmarks

Some things may seem slower, but overall the new MacBook Pro 13″ is a faster machine.

Lets see some Frame Per Second:

fps


Design

The MBP 13” is nearly indistinguishable from it’s 15-inch and 17-inch siblings, but is hundreds of dollars less expensive. That may sting those who coughed up for the pricier machines: there’s little to show they dropped the extra scratch. And it packs most of the other Pro’s most desirable features – the long-lasting battery, the better screen, the backlit keyboard.

macbook_pro_13

macbook_pro_13

Battery

Battery Status


The 13-inch MacBook Pro truly deserves its “Pro” label. Its a wonderful machine with allmost all the spcs from its big brothers. The battery seems to last forever and can be replaced in case you wonder.

According to Apple:

“The battery in your MacBook Pro is a consumable item, which means it will require replacement at the end of its useful life.   A replacement battery can be purchased directly from Apple.  The price of the replacement battery includes installation of your new battery and environmentally responsible disposal of your depleted battery.”

How much wiil it cost? Check the diagram below:

Battery Prices

Keep in touch for more reviews.

5 thoughts on “MacBook 13″ Vs MacBook Pro 13″

  1. Nice review!
    I guess a lot of customers that bought the “old” MacBook a couple of months ago are really mad right now! The “new” Pro have all the good stuff from the “old” one, plus a better battery life, a FireWire port, a slight better performance and a better price!

    Regards from Brasil

  2. Many Thanks!
    I had an “old” and I was mad…lol
    So I understand who also bought them. I had the chance to trade, so I was lucky!

    Best Regards from the AllNewMac Team

  3. Lucky you!

    I bought my MacBook Pro (Late 2008) a couple of months before Apple releases the current Mid 2009 with SD slot… Fortunately the SD slots doesn’t matter for me, anyway!

    Keep it up the good job here!

    Best regards

  4. Nice review!
    I guess a lot of customers that bought the "old" MacBook a couple of months ago are really mad right now! The "new" Pro have all the good stuff from the "old" one, plus a better battery life, a FireWire port, a slight better performance and a better price!

    Regards from Brasil;. All the best!!

Leave a Reply

